Alice Springs 09 Beanie Fest Entries

it’s that time of year again – The Alice Springs Beanie Festival – unfortunately I can’t be there to participate in all the fun but look forward to seeing all the wonderful creativity this festival generates –

these are my 2 contributions

Snake in the GrassSnake in the GrassSnake in the Grass - back viewAustralia in Colour - back viewAustralia in Colour - folded front viewAustralia in Colour

About rensfibreart

Australian Freeform Fibre Artist, Craft teacher & Author
This entry was posted in Alice Springs beanie fest, crochet project, freeform crochet, hats, beanies, headwear and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Alice Springs 09 Beanie Fest Entries

  1. aeonie says:

    Just found out you won the Spirit of the Land catergory – CONGRATULATIONS!! Your beanies are an inspiration!

  2. Megg says:

    Congratulations !! Winner of the ‘Spirit of the Land’ category!!! Well done and what stunning work !!

  3. rensfibreart says:

    Ideas for beanies…. well, they come from all directions, I am basically a freeformer remember, & I often start with an inspirational yarn allowing the colour or texture to lead the way – in the case of the Beanie Fest I take my lead from the entry categories – but I also look around me, texture can found in tree barks, rocks, leaves & of course the colours in nature are endless

    if you feel your beanies aren’t interesting enough why not think about some surface embellishments – buttons, beads, tassels, contrasting yarn threaded or crochet onto it, individual motifs can also be stitched in place & don’t forget felting – the crowns of my Rasta hats were all crochet then felted & the bands crochet directly to the crowns & then I added the tassels, beads etc – don’t be afraid to experiment, try out that wacky idea, you’ll be surprised how one idea leads onto another – not all your ideas will work out but it’s a lot of fun trying –

    your alpaca wool is a wonderful start – I hope that was some help – most importantly believe in yourself & trust your intuition – R

  4. Lynelle says:

    How do you come up with the ideas for the beanies. I will have to start thinking. I have a heap of alpaca wool to spin but after looking at some of the beanie mine are rather boring.

  5. rensfibreart says:

    thank you, yvette, the beanie fest is always a lot of creative fun – can’t imagine anyone actually wearing these mad creations but then again you never know!!

  6. rensfibreart says:

    It’s great fun, Lynelle & thanks for your kind comment

  7. Lynelle says:

    Love your beanie, I have just found out about the festival, might have to make some for next year.

  8. yvette says:

    Reading last year about the beany festifal I could not believe my eyes…I think your beanies will be a big succes!

Leave a Reply

